Campus / Education / Entertainment / News

Buffalo Review to produce TV show

Joseph Kasko
thebuffaloreview@gmail.com

(Buffalo, N.Y.) — The Buffalo Review will be available as a television program during the spring 2017 semester and the first episode was produced Feb. 9.

A radio version of the show will also return to the air on 91.3 WBNY-FM, Monday mornings at 9 a.m.

Students from two Communication Department courses at SUNY Buffalo State will produce the 30-minute weekly news and public affairs program entitled “The Buffalo Review TV,” will be available on the Buffalo Review’s YouTube channel.

Students in an electronic news producing course will research, plan, write and report for the show and students from an advanced studio production class will serve as the show’s studio crew.

“This producing course will operate less like a class and more like a professional newsroom,” said Dr. Joseph Kasko, an assistant professor of journalism.

The studio production class is taught by Professor Aaron Danial Annas, who has worked on television programs for National Geographic, the History Channel and the Canadian Broadcasting Company (CBC).

“Students will learn to excel in high pressure situations similar to those they will encounter when they enter the television industry,” said Annas.

“While I was extremely stressed during my first show, I honestly think working with Buffalo Review TV is full of a lot of challenges that will benefit me in my career,” Jess Freda, a senior journalism major from Medford, N.Y. “I really enjoy having a chance to work outside of my comfort zone.”

Kasko says the student producers will continue to maintain the Buffalo Review blog and develop a social media presence for the show.

Both the TV and radio programs, which will be available online, will feature interviews with news makers and experts from the Buffalo Niagara region, according to Kasko.

“We hope to tell stories and discuss issues that may not get a lot of attention in other media,” said Kasko.

“I hope the audience is able to tell how much work we put into it,” said Freda. “While it’s great that we’re letting our community know what is going on, I think it’s also great to show fellow students that you can gain amazing experience through student run programs.”

“I enjoy working on the Buffalo Review TV because it gives me the chance to strengthen my talents,” said Meaghan Michel, a senior journalism major from from Washingtonville, N.Y. ” I really enjoyed being an anchor for the first show. At first I was really nervous, but then I when I realized how I can project my voice and actually experience it, which was rewarding.”

Leave a Reply

